The Schengen Agreement, Schengen Area, & Countries Involved.
Schengen Visas Made Simple
The Schengen Agreement
The Schengen Agreement is an arrangement which prompted the formation of Europe's Schengen Area, in which border checks have generally been canceled. It was marked on 14 June 1985, close to the town of Schengen, Luxembourg.

Initially, the Schengen Agreement and the principles under it worked autonomously from the European Union. However, in 1999 they were fused into European Union law by the Amsterdam Treaty, while allowing opt-outs to the main two EU member states that had stayed outside the Area: Ireland and the United Kingdom.

The free movement of people is a major right ensured by the EU to its nationals. It allows each EU national to work, live and travel in any EU nation without extraordinary conventions. Schengen collaboration upgrades this opportunity by empowering natives to cross borders without being put under border checks. The border-free Schengen Area allows the free movement of more than 400 million EU citizens, and many non-EU tourists, citizens, businessmen, and any other citizen in the EU.

In the event that there is a genuine danger to open borders or inward security, a Schengen nation may uncommonly reintroduce border control at its interior outskirts for a restricted time of close to thirty days. On the off chance that such controls are reintroduced, the other Schengen nations, the European Parliament and the Commission ought to be informed about the event, as should the general public.
The Schengen Area
Regardless of the Schengen Agreement – included arrangements and principles were built up, the genuine execution of the Schengen Area at long last began on 26 March 1995, where 7 Schengen member nations: Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, and Spain chose to cancel their inner border checks.

From that point forward, the Schengen Area began a quick creating and growing pattern. In this way, on 28 April 1995, Austria, on 19 December 1996, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden were the new 5 nations to be part of the Schengen Agreement. Then again, drove by the example of seven previously mentioned nations, in October, Italy and in December 1997, Austria nullified their inward border controls.

Another real advance appeared for the Schengen Agreement, when in May 1999 "The Treaty of Amsterdam" joined the understanding inside the legitimate system of the European Union, as in the past the Schengen Agreement and tenets set by the agreement were seperate from the European Union and were working independently.

The growth of the Schengen Area proceeded with its prosperous voyage as on January 2000, Greece and on March 2001, Denmark, Finland, Sweden, Iceland, Norway, on 16 April 2003 Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia and on October 2004 Switzerland were the new 15 that joined as part of the Schengen Agreement. This fruitful story did not end there, as on December 2007 the countries mentioned above, announced the abolishment of their land and ocean, and on March 2008 of the air terminal border controls.

On February 2008, Liechtenstein was the 26th and the last nation so far to consent to the Schengen Arrangement and grow to be a part of the Schengen Area.
Countries Involved
There are 26 countries which are part of the Schengen Agreement. These countries include: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Being a part of the European Union (EU) is not irrefutably related with an enrolment into the Schengen Area, despite the fact that this, lawfully, is an unavoidable stride. The countries which are a part of the EU but are unable to be a part of the Schengen Agreement are due to the reason of being subjected to uncertain political issues.

Joining the Schengen Area is not just a political choice. Nations should likewise satisfy a rundown of pre-conditions, for example, be arranged and have the ability to: 
  • Assume liability for controlling the outer borders in the interest of the other Schengen States and for issuing uniform Schengen visas 
  • Proficiently participate with lawenforcement organizations in other Schengen States, keeping in mind the end goal to keep up a prominent state of security once the borders between Schengen nations are removed
  • Apply the normal arrangement of Schengen rules, for example, controls of land, ocean and air borders (air terminals), issuing of visas, police participation and assurance of individual information 
  • Interface with and utilize the SIS (Schengen Information System).​​​
Candidate nations experience a "Schengen assessment" before joining the Schengen Area and intermittently from that point to guarantee the right utilization of the enactment.
Some of our clients: