Spain Travel Update: Travel Restrictions for Third Countries Extended Until 30 April

Spain Travel Update: Travel Restrictions for Third Countries Extended Until 30 April

Spanish authorities have extended restrictions on non-essential travel from countries outside the European Union and the Schengen Zone until April 30 in order to halt the further spread of the Coronavirus disease.

Initially, the restriction was scheduled to end on 31 March however, due to increasing coronavirus cases, the Spanish government decided to keep the restriction in place until 30 April.

Countries With Low Infection Rate

An alleyway in Morocco
Algeria and Morocco may also be removed from the safe list due to a rise in COVID-19 cases.

Some countries have reported low rates of infection and they will be eligible to enter the territory. Travellers from the following third-countries can enter Spain:

  • New Zealand
  • Australia
  • Singapore
  • Rwanda
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • China (subject to interchange), as well as the areas of Hong Kong and Macau 

This latest measure would also technically affect travellers from the United Kingdom as it’s now a non-EU country.

Although Spain announced it will lift its travel ban for UK arrivals on 30 March, the British government has prohibited holidays abroad, including in EU countries, and all individuals who violate such a rule risk facing a fine of up to £5,000.

EU and Schengen Members

The Spanish government has clarified that citizens coming from the following countries will be allowed entry as long as they present a negative COVID-19 result upon their arrival. 

The decision will be effective from March 29 until April 4.

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark (except the Faroe Islands and Greenland)
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway (except the Møre og Romsdal and Trøndelag regions)
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Sweden

Mandatory Face Mask

A strict new law in Spain will require people to wear face coverings at all times outdoors, even while sunbathing on beaches.

It replaces the current rules, which have been in force since June 2020, that only require face coverings to be worn when social distancing is restricted

According to papers published in Spain’s official gazette, those aged six and over must wear masks “on public roads, in open-air spaces and in any closed space for public use or that is open to the public.”

The measure has no end date, but will last until the Government declares the COVID-19 crisis over, the announcement added.

Some of our posts include affiliate links. If you choose to purchase any of these products, we might get a small commission. For more information, check out our TOS.

What are your thoughts on the extended restriction? Talk to us in the comments section below.

If you have plans to travel, check out the deals we have found below.

Check out the offers and discounts from:

And because of the pandemic, don’t forget to get your travel insurance, which will cover you for flight disruptions and pandemic related matters.

IaM can help with your visa application to the United States, the UK & other countries

If you need help with a US visa, a UK Visa, or visa to Europe, including help with appointment booking obligations, IaM can help. For more information and advice on US immigration, UK immigration law and US visa applications or if you need any help or assistance please, reach out to your Visa Coordinator at IaM.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.