UK Travel Safe List: Expanded Green List Effective 30 June

UK Travel Safe List: Expanded Green List Effective 30 June

The UK government has shared the latest changes to its traffic light system for international travel. This, after workers from the tourism sector protested for quarantine-free travel. The tourism sector has been one of the most affected sectors during the pandemic, with many countries severely restricting their borders now over a year to prevent the spread of the virus.

There have been 11 countries and territories on the green list where arrivals from the list do not need to undergo quarantine when entering the UK subject to a negative COVID-19 test.

The UK government has now confirmed an additional 15 destinations will be added to the quarantine-free list.

This is now the full list of countries and territories starting 30 June where quarantine is no longer required to enter the UK:

  • Europe: The Balearic Islands (which include Ibiza, Menorca, Majorca and Formentera), Malta and Madeira
  • Caribbean: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat and Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Other British Overseas Territories: Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory and Pitcairn
  • Countries and Territories from the previous list: Australia, Brunei, Iceland, Israel, New Zealand, Singapore, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Ascension Island, St Helena and Tristan da Cunha

These amendments will undoubtedly be a major win for the tourism industries in the Balearics, Madeira, and Malta however those hoping for a trip to a Greek island will be disappointed. 

Mainland Portugal and the Azores are to remain on the amber list.

All the additions to the green list, with the exception of Malta, have also been added to the green watch list, signalling they are at risk of moving back to amber. Israel and Jerusalem have also been put on the watch list.

Amber List Rules Soon to be Modified

Aside from the updated green list, British Transport Secretary Grant Shapps tweeted the following surprise announcement:

The Department for Transport said the plan to allow fully vaccinated people to arrive from amber list countries without having to quarantine will take place in phases, starting with UK residents.

It also said it plans to remove the guidance that people should not travel to amber countries, and will take clinical advice on whether regular testing could provide a safe alternative to quarantine for children accompanied by vaccinated adults.

Further details on this scheme have not been revealed, but according to Shapps there will be further information released next month.

Countries Added to UK's Red List

There are also new additions to the red list, meaning all travel is effectively banned from these countries.

Joining the red list are:

  • Dominican Republic
  • Eritrea
  • Haiti
  • Kuwait
  • Mongolia
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda

The new change will take effect on 30 June.

Are you satisfied with the new green list?  Where do you plan to travel this summer? Talk to us in the comment section below.

Check out the deals we have found below and tell us your travel plans.

Check out the offers and discounts from:

And because of the pandemic, don’t forget to get your travel insurance, which will cover you for flight disruptions and pandemic related matters.

IaM can help with your visa application to the United States, the UK & other countries

If you need help with a US visa, a UK Visa, or visa to Europe, including help with appointment booking obligations, IaM can help. For more information and advice on US immigration, UK immigration law and US visa applications or if you need any help or assistance please, reach out to your Visa Coordinator at IaM.

Some of our posts include affiliate links. If you choose to purchase any of these products, we might get a small commission. For more information, check out our TOS.



Leave a Reply