UK’s New Green List for Mid July

UK’s New Green List for Mid July

The British government has released the latest changes on its international travel list.

On 14 July, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps announced changes to the green, amber, and red lists ahead of the major lockdown easement coming into play next week.

Four more destinations will be added to the green list and the green watchlist. From 4 AM on Monday, 19 July, travellers from these destinations will not have to self-isolate for 10 days on return, regardless of their vaccine status.

New additions on the green list are:

  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Hong Kong
  • Taiwan

Updated Green List

All arrivals to the UK need to present a pre-departure test. Although people coming back from green list countries don’t have to be quarantined, they still need to take a PCR Covid test on day 2 of their arrival back into the UK.

The countries currently on the UK green list as of 4 AM on 30 August are:

  • Anguilla
  • Antarctica/British Antarctic Territory
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Austria
  • Australia
  • the Azores
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Croatia
  • Denmark

  • Dominica
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Finland
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • Israel and Jerusalem
  • Latvia
  • Liectenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Madeira
  • Malta
  • Montserrat
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands
  • Romania
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands
  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Turks and Caicos Islands

Although mainland Portugal and Spain and other holiday destinations remained on the amber list, with the new quarantine rule for the vaccinated, travellers will still be able to skip the mandatory quarantine.

Check our blog post for the new rule for the vaccinated.

New Additions to the Red List

There are also new additions to the red list, meaning all travel is effectively banned from these countries.

Joining the red list are:

  • Cuba
  • Indonesia
  • Myanmar
  • Sierra Leone

What are your thoughts on the new green list? Talk to us in the comment section below.

Check out the deals we have found below and tell us your travel plans.

Check out the offers and discounts from:

And because of the pandemic, don’t forget to get your travel insurance, which will cover you for flight disruptions and pandemic related matters.

IaM can help with your visa application to the United States, the UK & other countries

If you need help with a US visa, a UK Visa, or visa to Europe, including help with appointment booking obligations, IaM can help. For more information and advice on US immigration, UK immigration law and US visa applications or if you need any help or assistance please, reach out to your Visa Coordinator at IaM.

Some of our posts include affiliate links. If you choose to purchase any of these products, we might get a small commission. For more information, check out our TOS.



Leave a Reply