General Election 2015

Following the dissolution of Parliament on 30 March 2015, the UK voted for their next government on 7 May 2015. Voting took place in all 650 parliamentary constituencies of the United Kingdom, each electing one Member of Parliament to the House of Commons, the lower house of Parliament.

Out of everyone’s expectation, the Conservative took majority with 331 seats, Labour held 232 seats, Scottish National Party took 56 seats, Liberal Democrats with 8 and UK Independent Party only taking 1 seat.

Which means Mr David Cameron is, again, our new Prime Minister. But this time with a governing party consisting of only the Conservative party. No more coalition.

Another big surprise of this election was the big success of the Scottish National Party; of Scotland’s First Minister, Nicola Sturgeon. They won 56 out of the available 59 seats in Scotland. This unprecedented success meant Labour lost seats in what was once their safest territory.

The unexpected result triggered the subsequent resignation of Labour and Lib Dem’s leaders, Messrs Ed Miliband and Nick Clegg.

For now, we wait who will lead each government department as Mr Cameron reshuffles his cabinet prior to the return of Parliament on 18 May 2015.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a reply

I consent to Immigration And Migration and it's group companies collecting my data.
This comment collects your personal data so as we can conduct work on your behalf. Check out our privacy policy for the full story on how we protect and manage your submitted Data!

UK Immigration

Business People & Investors
Sole Representatives
Tier 1 UK Visas
Tier 1 UK General Visa
Tier 1 UK (General) Assessment
Tier 1 Uk Entrepreneur Visa
Tier 1 UK Graduate Entrepreneur Visa
Studying in the UK
Tier 4 (General) UK Student Visas
Tier 4 (Child) UK Student Visa
UK Student Visitor Visa
Other Immigration Applications
Ancestry and Commonwealth
EEA Applications
Long Residence
Indefinite Leave (ILR)
British Citizenship
Other Visa Countries
United States

Work Permits
Tier 2 UK General Visa
Tier 2 UK Immigration Migrant Application
Temporary Workers
Tier 5 UK Youth Mobility Scheme
Visiting the UK
General Visitor Visa
Business Visitor Visa
Family Visitor Visa
Child Visitor Visa
Marriage Visitor Visa
Family Immigration
Spouses and Partners
Dependant Children
Extended Family Members

Businesses and Institutions
Sponsorship Licences
Education Providers
Global Mobility
Professional Partners