Canada Grants Visa-Free Travel to 13 Countries

Canada Grants Visa-Free Travel to 13 Countries

In an exciting development for global travellers, Canada has recently expanded its visa-free travel program, allowing citizens of 13 additional countries to explore the wonders of the Great White North without the need for a visa. 

This significant change will undoubtedly boost tourism and foster cultural exchange between Canada and these nations. 

Canadian Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Sean Fraser announced on 06 June that 13 countries were added to the electronic travel authorisation (eTA) program. 

“This expansion not only enhances convenience for travellers, it will also increase travel, tourism, and economic benefits, as well as strengthen global bonds with these 13 countries,”

Sean Fraser

Citizens from these countries who have either held a Canadian visa in the last 10 years or who currently hold a valid United States non-immigrant visa can now apply for an eTA instead of a visa when travelling to Canada by air.

This expansion is effective immediately.

Meanwhile, those who are not eligible for an eTA will still need a visitor visa before travelling to Canada.

Countries Added To The eTa Program

The newly added countries to the visa-free travel program are:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Costa Rica
  • Morocco
  • Panama
  • Philippines
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Seychelles
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay

Introducing visa-free air travel will make it faster, easier, and more affordable for thousands of known travellers from these countries to visit Canada for up to six (6) months for either business or leisure.

What Is Canada's eTa?

Electronic travel authorisation (eTA) is a digital travel document that most visa-exempt travellers need to travel to or transit through Canada by air.

The eTA application is used by Canadian officials to conduct light-touch, pre-travel screening of air travellers. It costs CAN$7 to apply, and most applications are automatically approved within minutes.

To apply for an eTA, travellers need only a valid passport, a credit card, an email address, and access to the Internet.

What are your thoughts on this issue? Talk to us in the comment section below. Or if you need more advice on the above, contact us for further travel & immigration advice.

Check out the deals we have found below and tell us your travel plans.

Check out the offers and discounts from:

And because of the pandemic, don’t forget to get your travel insurance, which will cover you for flight disruptions and pandemic related matters.

IaM can help with your visa application to Europe, the United States, the UK & other countries

If you need help with a US visa, a UK Visa, or a visa to Europe, including help with appointment booking obligations, IaM can help. For more information and advice on US immigration, UK immigration law and US visa applications or if you need any help or assistance please, reach out to your Visa Coordinator at IaM.

Some of our posts include affiliate links. If you choose to purchase any of these products, we might get a small commission. For more information, check out our TOS.


Leave a Reply